About Us 

This department also started with the other departments of the Faculty in 1943 with Bachelor’s Programs. The postgraduate programs started after 1957. The department was established with the help of personalities like Pt. Jaydev Vidyalankar, Sri Ramchandra Waman Kumbhare, Prof. Pravin Chandra Jain and Pt. Jagdish Chandra Sharma(winner of President’s Award). Vedic studies are offered to all the students of the Vidyapith as a part time course. Here the students learn to recite the Veda Mantras and learn all the Mantras for the sixteen Sanskar. Students also learn basic knowledge of Vastu, Jyotish and Karmkand. The Sanskrit Department has additional Three Year Shastri Degree Course for those students who are persuing M.A., M.Phil. and Ph.D. in Sanskrit. The department is known for its quality research. Presently the students are pursuing research in Veda, Dharma Shastra, Literature, Kavya, and Natya. It is perhaps due to the scientific methodology of Sanskrit education that the department has the history of highest number of NET and JRF students in the country. The department organizes various annual programs, national seminars and workshops. The department has started M.Phil. course from the session 2009-10. The department has introduced some extra free classes for UGC-NET / JRF, 1st, 2nd and 3rd grade of school teacher examination and other competitive examinations.

Notified Under Section (3) of University Grants Commission Act.
@ 2007 Banasthali Vidyapith.