The department of Political Science and Public Administration is one of the oldest departments of social science faculty in Banasthali University. The objectives of the department’s programme are to develop necessary analytical skills; to develop practical, comprehensive and competitive vision on the various issues of local, national and international importance to have an acquaintance with the latest trends; to develop good citizenship and leadership qualities; and also cultivate capabilities and skills in the students for taking up professional challenges within the parameters of value system of Banasthali University.

The Department runs Ph.D., M.Phil, Post Graduate and Under Graduate programmes in Political Science as well as under graduate programme in Public Administration. The courses of study are regularly revised and updated.

The main constituents of the curricula in Political Science are – Political Theory, Political Ideologies, Western and Indian Political Thought, National and International Politics, Politics of South Asia, comparative reflections on politics, Good Governance, National Movement and Constitutional development in India, and Emerging Trends in Political Science.

The main constituents of the curricula of Public Administration at undergraduate level are – Principles of Public Administration, Personnel and Financial Administration, Administrative Institutions and Comparative Administration, Emerging Trends in Public Administration and Public Administration at the local, state and national level in India.

The faculty and the students of the Department are actively engaged in research activities and participate in National and International Conferences/Seminars and present their research papers. The Department organises co-curricular and extra-curricular activities at various levels. Many students of the Department have qualified U.G.C.- 'NET' as well as state level 'SET' Examinations. The alumni of the Department are working in prestigious institutions as teachers, administrators, researchers, political leaders & social workers.

From year 2005 annual lecture series has been initiated in the memory of first student, founding member and former President of Banasthali Vidyapith Late Professor Sushila Vyas, in which scholars of national and international repute are invited to deliver the memorial lecture. So far Prof. S.D. Muni (2005-2006), Prof. Pushpesh Pant (2006-2007), Prof. Pratap Bhanu Mehta (2007-2008), Prof. P.V. Indiresan (2008-2009),   Prof Indranath Choudhary (2009-2010),  Justice Dharmadhikari (2010- 2011), Prof Gowardhan Mehta (2011-2012) and Prof. Rangnathan (2012-2013) .have delivered the lecture.

Department also organises exhibition every year on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti on 2nd October.

Notified Under Section (3) of University Grants Commission Act.
© 2007 Banasthali University.
WCMS provided by Auriga IT Solutions